Take Profit Trader vs Topstep: compare program fees, payout and legal terms
A side-by-side, official-source comparison of Take Profit Trader and Topstep. Match the exact product, account or program and country before drawing a conclusion.
Set an equal comparison scope
This comparison uses the published Take Profit Trader and Topstep facts listed below. Match the exact evaluation model, account stage, simulated account size, drawdown method and country eligibility; rules can differ between programs from the same firm.
Standard PRO activation fee Trading Combine — $50K; XFA Standard
Take Profit Trader: Vietnam is expressly restricted. The policy prohibits access to trading accounts and market data from restricted locations, including during travel; a single instance can trigger a block. This is stricter than residency-only policies used by some other firms. Scope: Take Profit Trader Test, PRO and PRO+ access; trading and market data by location. Topstep: Eligibility considers citizenship and residence. Vietnam is eligible for Trading Combine and Express Funded, with total payouts capped at $200,000; Live Funded is unavailable. Listed XFA-only countries have the same limitation. Chinese military companies are restricted, not all China residents. Scope: Topstep Trading Combine, Express Funded and Live Funded eligibility.
Take Profit Trader — Country policy Topstep — Country policy
Compare program fees on the same basis
A challenge price alone does not establish value. Include reset or activation charges, data/platform costs, refund conditions and the probability-sensitive rule structure without treating past payouts as guaranteed.
- Take Profit Trader — Programme fee: $50K Test: $170/month list price; standard PRO activation $130, promotions vary
- Take Profit Trader — Commission: Test/PRO: $4.50 per standard contract round turn; micros $1.50.
- Topstep — Programme fee: Standard $50K: $49/month plus $149 XFA activation; taxes may apply
- Topstep — Commission: TopstepX: ES/NQ $3.78; MES/MNQ $1.22 per round turn, per contract.
Program fees · takeprofittrader.com Commission · takeprofittraderhelp.zendesk.com Program fees · help.topstep.com Commission · help.topstep.com

Diagram explained
Platform availability is not payout approval
- TPT PRO is simulated with intraday trailing
- Topstep XFA has its own payout path
- Country access and supported platforms differ
Legal terms and payout route
Take Profit Trader — Contracting entity: Take Profit Trader LLC; Florida office. · restrictions: Not stated in the reviewed source set. · Payout methods: Not stated in the reviewed source set. · payout: PRO $50K: eligible from day one after reaching $52,000 buffer balance; trader keeps 80%. Topstep — Contracting entity: TopstepTrader LLC operates simulated Combine/XFA; parent Topstep LLC (Delaware). · restrictions: Combine: best day below 55% of target to avoid increased consistency target · Payout methods: Not stated in the reviewed source set. · payout: XFA Standard: 5 winning days of $150+; up to 50% balance, standard $2,000 cap.
Contracting entity · takeprofittrader.com Reward payments · takeprofittraderhelp.zendesk.com Contracting entity · topstep.com Trading Combine — $50K; XFA Standard Reward payments · help.topstep.com
For prop programs, distinguish a contractual reward request from a broker withdrawal. Check who owes the payment, proof required, eligible methods, timing, country limits and the conditions that can cancel a request.
Your next step
Sources and scope
Sources are provider publications. Conditions may vary by entity, country, account and program. Recheck before signing up.
- Standard PRO activation fee
- Profit targets · takeprofittrader.com
- Program fees · takeprofittrader.com
- Contracting entity · takeprofittrader.com
- Commission · takeprofittraderhelp.zendesk.com
- Reward payments · takeprofittraderhelp.zendesk.com
- Trading Combine — $50K; XFA Standard
- Profit targets · help.topstep.com
- Maximum loss · help.topstep.com
- Daily loss · help.topstep.com
- Reward payments · help.topstep.com
- Program fees · help.topstep.com
- Reward share · topstep.com
- Contracting entity · topstep.com
- Commission · help.topstep.com
- Take Profit Trader — Country policy
- Topstep — Country policy