Topstep vs Apex Trader Funding: compare program fees, payout and legal terms
A side-by-side, official-source comparison of Topstep and Apex Trader Funding. Match the exact product, account or program and country before drawing a conclusion.
Set an equal comparison scope
This comparison uses the published Topstep and Apex Trader Funding facts listed below. Match the exact evaluation model, account stage, simulated account size, drawdown method and country eligibility; rules can differ between programs from the same firm.
Trading Combine — $50K; XFA Standard EOD Evaluation — $50K (non-legacy)
Topstep: Eligibility considers citizenship and residence. Vietnam is eligible for Trading Combine and Express Funded, with total payouts capped at $200,000; Live Funded is unavailable. Listed XFA-only countries have the same limitation. Chinese military companies are restricted, not all China residents. Scope: Topstep Trading Combine, Express Funded and Live Funded eligibility. Apex Trader Funding: Vietnam is excluded for new or additional accounts. Trading, purchasing and requesting payouts while in restricted countries are prohibited. A former resident may qualify after moving only with accepted identity, address and bank evidence. Canada can use simulated Evaluation/PA accounts; Live eligibility is separate. Scope: Apex new/additional Evaluation and Performance Accounts; access while abroad.
Topstep — Country policy Apex Trader Funding — Country policy
Compare program fees on the same basis
A challenge price alone does not establish value. Include reset or activation charges, data/platform costs, refund conditions and the probability-sensitive rule structure without treating past payouts as guaranteed.
- Topstep — Programme fee: Standard $50K: $49/month plus $149 XFA activation; taxes may apply
- Topstep — Commission: TopstepX: ES/NQ $3.78; MES/MNQ $1.22 per round turn, per contract.
- Apex Trader Funding — Programme fee: One-time evaluation grants 30 days; exact EOD $50K and PA activation prices unconfirmed.
- Apex Trader Funding — Commission: Tradovate: ES/NQ $3.10; MES/MNQ $1.04 per contract round turn.
Program fees · help.topstep.com Commission · help.topstep.com Program fees · apextraderfunding.com Commission · apextraderfunding.com

Diagram explained
A split percentage cannot rank payout access
- Topstep XFA paths have different caps
- Apex EOD uses safety net and qualifying days
- Vietnam eligibility differs between providers
Legal terms and payout route
Topstep — Contracting entity: TopstepTrader LLC operates simulated Combine/XFA; parent Topstep LLC (Delaware). · restrictions: Combine: best day below 55% of target to avoid increased consistency target · Payout methods: Not stated in the reviewed source set. · payout: XFA Standard: 5 winning days of $150+; up to 50% balance, standard $2,000 cap. Apex Trader Funding — Contracting entity: Apex Trader Funding Inc; not a broker. · restrictions: Not stated in the reviewed source set. · Payout methods: Not stated in the reviewed source set. · payout: 5 days at $250+ each; $52,600 minimum balance; 50% consistency; maximum 6 payouts.
Contracting entity · topstep.com Trading Combine — $50K; XFA Standard Reward payments · help.topstep.com Contracting entity · dashboard.apextraderfunding.com Reward share · apextraderfunding.com
For prop programs, distinguish a contractual reward request from a broker withdrawal. Check who owes the payment, proof required, eligible methods, timing, country limits and the conditions that can cancel a request.
Your next step
Sources and scope
Sources are provider publications. Conditions may vary by entity, country, account and program. Recheck before signing up.
- Trading Combine — $50K; XFA Standard
- Profit targets · help.topstep.com
- Maximum loss · help.topstep.com
- Daily loss · help.topstep.com
- Reward payments · help.topstep.com
- Program fees · help.topstep.com
- Reward share · topstep.com
- Contracting entity · topstep.com
- Commission · help.topstep.com
- EOD Evaluation — $50K (non-legacy)
- Reward share · apextraderfunding.com
- Trading environment · apextraderfunding.com
- Contracting entity · dashboard.apextraderfunding.com
- Commission · apextraderfunding.com
- Program fees · apextraderfunding.com
- Topstep — Country policy
- Apex Trader Funding — Country policy